Skip to content Skip to navigation

Graduate Students

Name Field of Study Cohort Email
Kristian Ayala 20th Century American Literature & Comparative Race Studies 2019 kayala@stanford.edu
Tong Liu 20th Century British Literature 2019 tliu723@stanford.edu
Carmen Thong Postcolonial/World Literature 2019 tcarmen@stanford.edu
Emma Brush Modern and Postmodern Literature 2018 ebrush@stanford.edu
Philip Hoffert 19th Century Victorian 2018 phoffert@stanford.edu
Helena Hu Contemporary Literature 2018 helenahu@stanford.edu
Mattea Koon Early Modern Literature 2018 matteask@stanford.edu
Antonio Lenzo Medieval 2018 alenzo@stanford.edu
Benjamin Libman Modern and Postmodern Literature 2018 libman@stanford.edu
Alexander Sherman Modern and Postmodern Literature 2018 ajsherm@stanford.edu
Cody Chun Contemporary Literature
Dissertation: History and Reality
2017 codychun@stanford.edu
Joseph Kidney British Renaissance 2017 josephhk@stanford.edu
Nika Mavrody Contemporary 2017 nikam@stanford.edu
Allison Merz Digital Humanities 2017 amdlit@stanford.edu
Anna Mukamal British: Modern 2017 amukamal@stanford.edu
Claire Grossman 20th/21st Century Literature 2016 cog@stanford.edu
Jessica Jordan Literary Criticism/Theory
Dissertation: Anxieties of Abundance: Book and Body in America’s Gilded Age
2016 jcjordan@stanford.edu
Timothy Kennett 19th Century British Literature 2016 tkennett@stanford.edu
Trenton Leinenbach British Romanticism 2016 trentonl@stanford.edu
Charlotte Lindemann 20th Century American Literature 2016 cilindem@stanford.edu
Michael Menna Renaissance Literature 2016 mlmenna@stanford.edu
Nichole Nomura Contemporary Literature 2016 nnomura@stanford.edu
Ezra Olson 20th Century American Literature 2016 ezrao@stanford.edu
Casey Patterson African American literature; Black Studies; the Black Diaspora 2016 caseyp@stanford.edu
Megan Strackbein Contemporary American Literature 2016 mstrackb@stanford.edu
Matthew Warner Renaissance Literature 2016 mattgw@stanford.edu
Steele Douris British: 19th Century and Digital Humanities 2015 sdouris@stanford.edu
Matthew Redmond British: 19th-century 2015 mredmo90@stanford.edu
Mai Wang African American Literature 2015 maiwang@stanford.edu
Kathryn Winner American-After 1900 Modern (post-1914) 2015 kwinner@stanford.edu
Rachel Bolten Post 1914 American 2014 rbolten@stanford.edu
Armen Davoudian Poetry Modern/Postmodern 2014 armend@stanford.edu
Erik Fredner Postbellum American; Digital Humanities
Dissertation: Average, American: Statistical Imaginaries of the Postbellum United States
2014 fredner@stanford.edu
Juan Lamata Renaissance 2014 jlamata@stanford.edu
Eliza Pickering 19th Century American 2014 elizamp@stanford.edu
Jonathan Quick Medieval 2014 jquick@stanford.edu
Gabriela Salvidea Literature and Philosophy 2014 salvidea@stanford.edu
Hannah Smith-Drelich Renaissance; Food Studies
Dissertation: “Altered Appetites: Food and Metaphor in Early Modern England”
2014 hsd@stanford.edu
Jean Abbott (on leave) Old and Middle English
Dissertation: How to Read a Name in Old English Literature, c. 600-1250
2013 abbott5@stanford.edu
Linda Liu The Novel
Dissertation: Submerged Politics: Conservatism and Narrative Form in Antebellum America
2013 lyliu2@stanford.edu
Nathan Wainstein Literary Criticism/Theory
Dissertation: Unformed Art: Bad Writing in the Modernist Novel
2013 nwainst1@stanford.edu
Elizabeth Wilder British: 19th Century 2013 wildere@stanford.edu
Rachel Kirkwood (on leave) 20th and 21st C. American; Contemporary Literature
Dissertation: The Suspended Self: Contemporary Anglophone Autofiction and Genres of Uncertainty
2012 rachkirk@stanford.edu
Anita Law (on leave) British: 18th Century
Dissertation: Rhythm, Pace, Vibration: Moving Forms in the Long Eighteenth Century
2012 anital@stanford.edu
Frances Molyneux British- Modern (post-1900)
Dissertation: Disjunct Motion: Sound's Effects in the Nineteenth-Century Novel
2012 frances2@stanford.edu
Julia Noble British 18th/19th century
Dissertation: "Dark Inscrutable Workmanship": Envisioning Mystery through Enigma in Wordsworth, Shelley, and Keats
2011 julianoble@stanford.edu
Vanessa Seals (on leave)
Dissertation: Representations of Multiracial Families in American Literature
2010 vlseals@stanford.edu